Throwback Thursday: American pro racing in 1989

Make America great for East Coast road racing again!

1989 Tour de Trump banner

Who remembers the Tour de Trump, which was going to be even greater than the Tour de France?

Believe it or not, when race organizer Billy Packer proposed naming this bike race after Donald Trump, Trump initially refused because he was worried about the media reaction. We can blame pro cycling for the development of Trump’s apparent narcissism.

The winner of the inaugural race in 1989 was Norwegian Dag Otto Lauritzen racing for 7-Eleven. Greg Lemond, racing for Z-Tomasso, would win in 1992, by which time the race was called the Tour DuPont. Lance Armstrong, racing for Jim Ochowicz’s Motorola, won the final two editions of this race in 1995 and 1996.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.