California Senator Alan Lowenthal of Long Beach will try once again to get a three foot law onto the California Vehicle Code.
You might recall the state legislature passed a similar bill last year only to have Governor Jerry Brown veto it. Brown said he didn’t like the 15 MPH exception in last year’s S.B. 910.
Senator Lowenthal introduced S.B. 1464 last Friday, with identical language to S.B. 910, but without the 15 MPH exception. Some highlights of S.B. 1464 include:
- Adds a minimum 3 foot distance to California’s current passing law, which specifies “a safe distance without interfering with the safe
operation of the overtaken vehicle or bicycle.” (CVC 21750)
- Current fine for violating the safe passing law is $100 for a first conviction, up to $250 for 3rd and subsequent convictions. S.B. 1464 reduces this to $35 to encourage more enforcement of the law. If a collision resulting in injury to the cyclist occurs, the fine jumps up to $220. (CVC 21750)
- Adds a provision to allow drivers to cross a double yellow line when necessary to pass a cyclist in a substandard width lane (CVC 21460).